5 States Election Results 2018: Watch live coverage on Aaj Tak

Want to get more information about aaj tak news video? Read this article now: 5 States Election Results 2018: Watch live coverage on Aaj Tak

aaj tak news video

The two largest political parties of the nation -- the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress party -- are all set to face off in a general election next year. But before that, the two will look to make significant gains in the five-state assembly elections, results for which will be announced today.

Aaj Tak will be covering the election results live on television and online. You can watch a live streaming feed of Aaj Tak television or at the end of this story.

Exit polls have predicted that the BJP is in for scare as Congress has a good chance of toppling the saffron party in at least two states -- Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh -- and just crossing the finish line in another -- Madhya Pradesh.

The India Today-Axis My India polls predict a sweep for the Congress party in Rajasthan, which in the last 20 years has alternated between Congress and the BJP every five years.

The BJP has been in power in Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh for 15 years and the India Today-Axis My India projects that Chhattigarh may be going the Congress way. Things aren't as clear in Madhya Pradesh, where the exit poll predicts a close contest with a slim advantage to the Congress.

In Telangana, K Chandrasekhar Rao, the caretaker chief minister, seems to have convinced voters to give him a second term, if the exit poll projects hold true. However, the "mahakutami" -- the grand alliance -- between the Congress, the Telugu Desam Party and two other outfits may just spring a surprise.

The exit polls have also shown the Congress losing in Mizoram.

Will these exit poll results be the oxygen Congress needed to survive, and thrive, or will they just prove to be a false alarm? Stay tuned with Aaj Tak to find out.

Check out the latest information about aaj tak news video, aaj tak,aaj tak news and aaj tak live only on uc browser!